Skip to main content

OK, time to jump in and share my experiences with the FEC100.
I am very new to the FEC100, having had my unit less than a full month.

First, some information about my FEC100.

At the time of ordering the FEC100, the cover and the meat probe, I was delighted to have been informed that the total cost to me was going to be about $350.00 less than I had counted on. At this point I was pretty HAPPY.

At the time of ordering, I was told that it would be three weeks before it would be delivered. In fact it was delivered to me in only two weeks. At this point I was MORE HAPPY than before.

When delivered, the FEC100 and all of the ancillary items (racks, wood pellets, rubs, hotel pan, sauces, mixes, owner’s manual and the FEC100 cover) were all in pristine and undamaged condition. I was even MORE HAPPY than before, even though the meat probe would need to come at a later date (out of stock).

I had trouble from the time that I had ordered the unit until it was delivered trying to find a five inch elbow and rain cap that would fit and function in such a manner so as not to impact the functionally of the smoker/oven. I also wanted it to look GREAT. With few choices available from the local building supply stores (LOWES, HOME DEPOT etc.) I ended up buying a five-inch diameter 90 degree chrome diesel exhaust elbow and matching chrome clamp, on line from IOWA 80. It is installed in the vertical position and looks amazing on the smoker. When smoking I add a high flow rain cap (very similar to the one shown by “SMOKINOKIE”) just stuck right into his FEC100 exhaust pipe (no elbow). When not smoking I remove the rain cap and replace it with a five inch to six inch expansion collar an then insert a six inch duct cap (plug) to keep out uninvited guests, leaves and what ever should not get in my smoker.

My Location: