Skip to main content

Hi all. Extreme newbie here. I'm looking to replace my cheap water smoker. Can't really control the temp and can't use it in the winter as it won't get hot enough. My head is spinning from looking at so many models. So, I'm looking at the SM025. Plus I like the fact it's made in the USA. Do you need to use a water pan in this smoker? I see some come with them and some don't. I saw a video where Cookshack recommends lining the bottom with foil. Is this model hard to clean? And sorry for the dumb questions. I know nothing about an electric smoker. Thanks for any and all reply’s.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Welcome to the Forum. Yep, what he said. Foil the top of the smokebox and bottom of the smoker for easier cleanup. I usually leave mine on for about 3-4 smokes before changing the foil. Grab a soapy rag and wipe down what has been covered with foil. 5-10 minutes tops, racks I throw in the dishwasher every now and then.

They are moist enough inside that no water pan is needed. I've smoked when it was -20 and had things come out just as good as if it were summer.

You won't be disappointed, and it'll last a lifetime
Welcome to the CS forum!

I agree with the other fine cooks, it just ain't gonna get any easier them smoking in a CS. You said something about your CHEAP smoker...did ya know that a CS can smoke a brisket and/or a PB all night on just about 50 cents or so of electricity?

Yes, it is made right there in Ponca City,OK, USA. They are a bunch of fine folks that believe in treating cooks the right way.They are willing to give you an unconditional refund if you want to return your smoker in the 1st 30 days.

Oh, if you need to search for any knowledge/recipes you can use the find button in the top left corner or just ask anyone around here...lots of good folks on the forum that don't mind sharing.
Tim...this may sound like a sarcastic answer...but it's not.