Skip to main content

I am in the process of buying a new smoker. Been looking at the cookshack models. What is the difference in taste and appearance between the all electric cookshacks and fec 100. Do you get good bark on the product or does it taste steamed? Do you get a smokering with either one. Alot of people tell me you can tell when something has been cooked in a cookshack. Also looking at traeger and backwoods, but like the idea of set and forget it. The fec 100 looks good, but kind of pricey. Any thoughts on the quality of the meat on a cookshack versus, charcol and wood like a backwoods smoker?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Greetings BBQTAXDR and welcome to the forum. Let me tell you my experience with the Cookshack.

I started out smoking on a Weber Kettle about 30 years ago. That was back when Weber had not yet invented the side rails so I made some out of sheet aluminum and they worked fine. From there I graduated up to an el-cheapo Brinkmann. From there up to an offset. I've smoked with charcoal, I've smoked with logs. I've used hickory, red oak, white oak, cherry and apple. I finally got tired of all the work involved with the offset, sold it and bought a Cookshack. The product I'm turning out from that little cooker is better than anything I've ever done with any of the other cookers and the amount of work is practically non existent.

No, the meat does not taste steamed but it is more tender and juicy. No there is no smoke ring but who cares. Smoke ring has no flavor it's only cosmetic and smoke ring is just a reaction to the nitrites in the smoking medium. Yes, there is bark. Not the thick crunchy kind you get from an offset. It's thinner but more flavorful. And, if you've ever frozen BBQ you know that no matter how crunchy your bark was when it went in, it'll be mushy when it comes out.