Skip to main content

Purchased an SM 025, scheduled to arrive tomorrow.

Doing Easter at my house BBQ style. I am new to the Cookshack but have been smokin quite a few things over the last 10 months. Gonna need a little help.

My plan:
- season the smoker ASAP with wood
- smoke ribs after that to get the feel of the smoker
- For Easter I want to smoke a pork butt and baby back ribs using the rub and wood they are sending with the smoker.

Questions:
- How big of a butt do I need to smoke over night? Maybe start the butt at 10 or 11 PM. This is one of the reasons I bought a Cookshack. FYI...I took a peak at Pork Butt 101...not done reading it in detail yet
- How does my plan sound?
- Any other suggestions?

Thanks,

smokin church hill
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Read...read it will only help! Congrats on the new cs025, I have a 020, you will love the larger shelves.

If it was me doing it now with what experience I have gained from this forum. I would practice once on ribs, before cooking for a gathering.

I would allow extra time on the PB, you can FTC. It will stay hot for a few hours. I would cook ribs right before dinner. You should have an idea on time from the practice run.

I must remind you read, practice,have FUN,and keep good notes.

There will be a small learning curve, even for an experience cook, and like most smokers they get better with time.
Well, 2nd new guy in a week doing something for Easter.

quote:
How does my plan sound?

Not that it's not sound, it's a plan, but being a Project Manager, you plan is risky. Risky because you're using a new smoker and doing it for a holiday.

But go for it and we'll help.

Proceed with caution, times for you WILL vary.

For the PB, how many people? Given the times I see here in the forum, I'd plan on 2 hours a pd. If it gets done early, just Foil/Wrap and hold.