Skip to main content

Good morning all! I just purchased a SM008 smoker and have already been assigned the task of smoking a couple of chickens for my dad's birthday. I am a very novice smoker ...coming from a gas/charcoal type smoker where most of the food I smoked was typically overdone and dry. Anyone will do give me some general advice on how to 1) Prepare the smoker for the first time 2) Smoke the chickens

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Rauz, read your instructions that came with the smoker.

You must season the smoker before using it for the first time.

Also there are some 101's on smoking just about everything here on the forums....good advice.

Are you going to leave your chicken whole, or split?

Do you have a remote thermometer? If not get one so you can see the temps of the meat with out opening the door.

REPEAT, DO NOT OPEN THE DOOR DURING THE SMOKING PROCESS......PERIOD.

No need to baste either.

If it were me, I'd use a basic rub of salt, pepper and garlic. Load in smoker, use a few ounces of apple wood, set the temp to 225 degrees, MAKE SURE YOUR DRIP PAN is in place....insert your remote probes, shut the door and walk away.....

Remove the chicken at 185 degrees in the thighs, or sooner then crips up the skin on a hot grill or oven. Make sure jouices run clear from the thighs.

good luck and tell us how it all turned out!!

dan
You'll find a LOT of advice if you do a search on chicken. If you haven't done it, go to the top of the page and click on "FIND" and type in "chicken".

That said, I'd go to, and bookmark the MainlyDave website. He ha a ton of great/fun tutorials of what he has done. edit.. Forgot to mention, there are some more good tutorials in Smokin Okie's Guides