Skip to main content

I was reading a few old posts in the favorite recipes section about doing beans along with meat in the smokette.

I am new to this and have been smoking a lot of pork butts this week in preparation for a big feed this weekend.

I have been using a 2" SS restaurant pan under my smokette and after contemplating my navel for about 7 hours, I noticed the liquid coming out into the pan. Up until the time the butts plateaued, the liquid in the pan was dark and thin and looked like a good candidate for making sauces, etc. Once the plateau was reached, then the liquid turned thick and very fatty looking.

If you add beans the last few hours, aren't you just using the really fatty stuff or is that what you want in the beans? Are ribs a better candidate for cooking beans than pork butts?

Has anybody tried reclaiming the initial output for sauces, etc?

Thanks......
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

quote:
Originally posted by Dale_MT:
...If you add beans the last few hours, aren't you just using the really fatty stuff or is that what you want in the beans?

Yes, fat is flavor and I want that in my beans.

If you're going no fat or low cal, don't use a PB.

I've never been so scientific. I just try to time my beans near the finish of the butt.

Not sure if that's fat or not. You could collect it, and cool it, if it congels, it's fat.

The real key is to get some of that pork flavor and more importantly get the beans in the smoke so they pick up lots of smoke.
Ummmmmm..... I agree with Smokin. Fat=Flavor. I always put the beans under whatever I'm cooking. I figure I gotta get the most out of that cholesterol medicine I take! Big Grin I have also on occasion collected the juice in a pan, pour it into a clear glass container and cool it in the fridge. You'll end up with a slab of stuff on top that looks almost like parafin(wax). Then you can just flip this stuff off and you have a concentrated "au jus" that is pretty much de-fatted.